top of page

Serving with Pride for over 60 years

We are a 100% volunteer suburban/rural fire department located in Lawrence County, Ohio. We serve a population of ~9,169 and cover a total of 27.6 square miles. We operate out of two stations, Station 1, located in the Burlington community, and Station 2, located in the Sunrise community of Fayette Township. We currently run 4 Engine companies, 1 Heavy Rescue Company 1 Light Rescue company, 1 Tanker, and several support vehicles. On average, we respond to approximately 600+ emergency calls a year. Since 2019 we have had an automatic mutual aid agreement with the South Point Fire Department for all two districts' emergencies, this was updated in 2021 to only provide assistance with working structure fires or motor vehicle accidents with injuries or entrapment.


Our coverage area is primarily residential. However, the past decade has brought much commercial and industrial growth to the township. We are bordered to the East by the Village of Chesapeake, to the North-East by Union Township, to the West by the Village of South Point, to the North West by Perry Township, and the North by Lawrence Township. The Ohio River forms our Southernmost border. 


bottom of page